In 1837, Rev. Crummer was the first preacher on the Platteville Methodist Circuit to make his way to the Montfort area. In the early years before the organized church was started, the people were served by itinerate ministers or missionaries such as Rev. Crummer & in 1841 F.M. Fullerton. The Methodist Episcopal Church was officially organized in Montfort in 1845 & the first frame church was built near the cemetery in 1850. This was soon sold for a one room school house & a new church was built on East Main Street while Rev. Sims was pastor in 1863. He stayed until 1865, as the early pastors didn’t stay long at a charge. 1881 brought Rev. Bachman who also preached at Livingston, Rock Church & Washburn (aka Arthur) to name a few. And from 1881-1919 the Montfort pastors also served the Livingston & Rock Churches. Then in 1942, while Rev. Campbell was pastor, the Montfort & Cobb churches were combined on a circuit. Rev. Campbell even preached at Stitzer for a while but he died quite suddenly while serving as pastor. The second half of the 20th century brought pastors that stayed for a longer while, seeing 4 or 5 years at the charge. They also had large influences on the state of the building, as Rev. Long saw the old church painted, interior redecorated & new furnaces installed between 1950-57. Rev. Soldner (1957-1961) emphasized need for a larger church & saw renovation plans replaced by a congregation’s commitment to build a new church. Rev. Mattke (1961-1965) saw the new church erected, dedicated & consecrated during his tenure. 1971 brought about Rev. Hagen (1971-1990) who spent a record 19 years as the pastor! Rev. McDonald (1990-1996) was the first female pastor to be followed by the second, Rev. Gorman from 1996-99. Each pastor is remembered for their unique gifts to the church.